Tampilkan postingan dengan label babies. Tampilkan semua postingan
Tampilkan postingan dengan label babies. Tampilkan semua postingan

Selasa, 01 November 2016

4th Trimester Update- 8 Weeks and it is Getting Interesting...


How Far Along- 8 weeks! Moving right along.

My Weight-  About the same. Definitely we are past the point where weight just coming off is long forgotten. Started exercising again, and I have been trying to eat right, but trying is the operative word.

Baby Cuteness Rating- So cute! I usually think babies at this age are in the awkward puberty of infancy, because they are more crazy-eyed than cute. I look back on The Bub, and he was not super cute yet. But this baby is so darn smiley and cute already. Motherly love talking? Maybe. But you can't fight with baby rolls.

You Breastfed Where?- A fancy restaurant? While dressed as a Pokemon? Life is full of so many possibilities when it comes to whipping out your boobs.

And I am Feeling- Scared. This is the first week where I am really on my own- all the grandparents and paternity leave cushion has run out. I did my first day of two bubs today, and we survived. That seems like a solid start to me. It will get better, but first it will suck, and I am not excited to be in the suckiness phase.

Most Bizarro Quirk of the Week- Apparently my hormones think my baby is blind, because I have saucers on my chest. Maybe they were like this before, and I was too busy with other things to notice. But wow, body, we get it, you can nipple. Let's turn the volume down on that now.


Best Moment of the Week- We are running on empty, and it feels like we are surviving moment to moment. We thought we were completely out of The Bub's diapers, and we were debating who was headed back to the store. It just felt like adulthood was back to ruin an already iffy day.

Then, like a gift from heaven, a UPS-driving angel dropped off the Bub's box of diapers a day early. I may have danced with the box through the living room. These are not the days where you get a lot of wins, but man, a diaper subscription, two chocolate chip cookies, and a documentary about the Shining may have just saved house morale. 


Having my cousin visit this weekend was also amazing. We had trick or treating, and having her there made the whole thing more fun and less stressful (because adults again outnumbered babies). I am so lucky to have her as a friend and cousin- is there anything better in the world than having someone love your kids? Plus, I really like having a full house of people. 

Favorite Tool in my Arsenal- Reusable Nursing Pads (I have these ones from Love Your Reusables on Etsy). Why did disposable nursing pads even become a thing? These are easy to throw in the laundry, and I have saved so much money (and prevented waste!) by going this route. If you are a new mommy, consider it!

And We are Watching- Nothing interesting. I mostly watch food shows at night, but I have actually been avoiding it to try to keep the Baby Bear sleeping. I have been working on Shutterfly projects on a dim computer. My goal is to have an awesome playlist for November so we mostly use music to fill the house.

And the Boy?- Back to work and I think in total fear I will have a break down from the challenge of getting everyone enough sleep. I am hoping he will be pleasantly surprised. I miss having him around all the time though.

Looking Forward To- Getting everyone back on schedule! 2 months of upheaval since we had a "normal," so I am looking forward to having a "normal" again. Plus, we have more visitors coming this weekend! Excited to spend the weekend with the Boy's brother and sister-in-law. So fun, and it is always happy to introduce our baby to his family. 
Read more

Senin, 24 Oktober 2016

Don't Buy Babyfood Pouches, Instead Try...

from babyrecs
"We do not inherit the Earth from our ancestors. We borrow it from our children."

When you are in the thick of parenting a baby or toddler, the last thing you can even imagine, much less plan for, is their future as adults. I know I have plenty of moments where I am just trying to get through the day. The years may go fast, but the days are a long string of chaos.

For that reason, lots of parenting shortcuts exist- tv shows to keep them occupied for a minute, a bumbo to keep them immobile, and pre-made baby food so you can feed them quickly. These things can be counted on to come with some kind of judgement call- we are all supposed to be constantly present, never need a minute to answer a phone call or pee or be a human being. Current "expert" opinion turns against anything that might make life a bit easier. I'm no expert, but I think all of those things make sense, and in the right moment, they are a lifesaver. 

That being said, there is one mommy shortcut that really burns my toast. I don't understand why people go out of their way to talk crap on Daniel Tiger but this nonsense goes unnoticed. 

The Babyfood Pouch. 

Now, these one time use pouches look innocuous enough, and they are perfect for a diaper bag, right? 

False, my friend, and they have to go. 

We may save a minute or two of our time by giving these to our kids rather than taking the time to serve them with a spoon, but they are bad for our kids now and even worse for their future.

Baby pouches are relatively new, started by Plum Organics this decade and immediately catching on. They took off almost immediately because we as parents are always on the run and what a great solution! Babies and toddlers could eat on the road or out of their chair. You can keep them in purses, etc. But soon after they took off, writing on the pouch began to question them. Even the New York Times was questioning some of Plum Organics' claims.

Why are they bad for them now?

First, there is solid evidence that the pouches are bad for teeth and teeth development if they go on too long (and right now it seems that the crutch lasts a long time- well into toddlerhood). It also creates long term sugar exposure to their teeth and could cause decay. All in all, bad news for teeth.

Second, in this phase of life, a baby isn't just eating for nutrition, they also are learning skills and building habits that develop into healthy eating habits in children. In other words, you are setting a stage, and they need to be starting to work on moving the food around in their mouth and chewing, so if you are still giving them apple mush in a pouch when they should be eating chewy apples, those skills might be stymied. 

My experience as a mom (to the world's least picky eater, so grain of salt this), is that the best way to encourage a variety of eating is to make your own food with flavor or to mix spices or herbs into the jars. You can't do that with pouches.Our bub eats what we eat, first as a puree and now about 40-50% of every piece of food we consume (more if I really want to eat it).. I know this won't work for everybody, but it might be worth giving a try, and the pouches serve as a stumbling block instead of a help.


Third, eating can be a meaningful and fun social interaction between you and your kid, and even if that doesn't play out every time, just handing off a pouch and sending them on their way cuts off that time at the table for building family culture and social bonds that are consistently heralded as crazy important. That whole "eat dinner as a family" thing starts now, and when you have the time to do it, it's probably worth it.

Fourth, you spend all this money on food for your baby that is organic, nutritious, and usually has some allusion to nature in the title. Then, you have stuffed it into a carrier jumping with chemicals. The truth is, they still don't understand all of the things leeching out of plastic food containers, and in some of the cases where they have tried to eliminate dangerous chemicals like BPA, the substitutes have turned out to be just as bad. In other word, wha!?!?!? No matter how many plants or suns are on the label, that pouch could be causing actual damage to your child's system or hormones. They just don't know enough, but there is good reason to be suspicious that your wholesome food is being covered in chemical nastiness.

PLEASE someone explain to me how this is any easier. What the hell.
Lastly (and maybe the most important point I have ever made), I have watched people squeeze those things on to spoons too many times. How is squeezing onto a tiny spoon easier than just spooning it out? Mysteries of the universe. 

Even worse than teeth, taste, chemicals, and family time is the effect these pouches will have on your little one's future. 

In fact, these plastic bags of purees have a downright awful environmental impact. One of the worst of anything in your kitchen right now.

The pouches are mostly one time use plastic waste, just like plastic bags, plastic straws, and plastic water bottles. This means that after your child's 2 minute snack, they will linger in the soil or water long after you are gone. Plastics are set to outnumber fish in the oceans by 2050, so well within your baby's adulthood. Your child will not be able to safely eat fish or go to the ocean without running into mountains of debris.

The only part of these pouches that are recyclable are the lids, so that whole pouch is absolutely garbage waiting to happen. I heard a mom try to justify these pouches as "creating less waste" but that is the opposite of the truth. These pouches are designed to be polluting our land and water.

But they are tiny right? This may not seem like such a big deal, but imagine if you weren't allowed to throw those suckers away, you had to keep them in your house. Now how long before they fill the space up? Now multiply that by all the moms you know.

This is a huge and completely avoidable problem. 


Baby food pouches perhaps burn my toast the most because they were basically non-existent ten years ago, and now they are treated as indispensible. I have had more than one girlfriend claim this is the only way they can get their baby (or toddler) to eat veggies and fruit. If you are one of those moms, I still love you and think that you are a kickass mom, but that is crazy talk. Don't feel trapped by the pouch. 

Trust me, no matter how many suns, leaves, or other symbols of earthiness are on the package, whoever made that pouch does not care about the environment or your kid. They care about making money only, so it is up to you to change the momentum and show baby food companies that such unethical (and expensive) packaging is unattractive, unecessary, and not getting your money. It may feel like swimming against the mainstream current (because it is), but you can do it.


Here's how: 


1. Give your baby something fresh- Sure, a pouch with apple might be healthy, but you know what is healthier? An apple. It doesn't have anything in it to keep it "fresh" and it comes in it's own biodegradable container. Shop the outside of the grocery store, and check out that managers' shelf for deals that will still make perfectly good baked apples or applesauce.

from Amazon
2. Reusable Pouches- THIS. You can control the content of the food better and you will create so much less waste. Sometimes you will still be on the go, but with good planning you can make your own puree or just put baby food from a jar into it. If you use the same pouch even 5 times, that's 4 fewer pouches in your child's water later. Plus, you will save a ton of money- when you pay for pouches, you are paying for the plastic. Try Squooshi, Nature's Little Squeeze, or a silicon pouch from Squeezy Gear. Nourish with Style is an amazing Etsy store to check out too.

3. Put your food in another container- Once you hit that toddler phase, a handful of raisins or blueberries in a snack pack can be just the ticket. Etsy has tons of options in all sorts of styles. Re-play Snack Stacks are my absolute favorite- convenient, easy to clean, made in America, and recycled! Kids Konserve also sells a set we use all the time. There are so many easy options for this- garbage packaging is not needed!

I know with picky eaters this can be especially tricky, but consider trying juices with veggies or things toddlers can dip (why do they love dipping so much?) as a transition out of the pouch. This isn't about only eating nuts in the woods, it's about finding other solutions that make sense, and even if it isn't perfect, almost anything beats one time use plastic.

You can do this! Even if you need the pouches, you can take a reusable option and make your child's world that much cleaner and happier for the future. I get it, sometimes you need the shortcuts to just survive, but I am just saying this might be a battle worth picking and save the pouches for emergencies.

Want more ideas for how to green your regular shopping habits? I got you! Check out my massive list of shopping lists and ideas!
Read more

Rabu, 19 Oktober 2016

4th Trimester Update- 6 Weeks, Sweet Freedom!



How Far Along- 6 Weeks- we made it!

My Weight-  Down a little more. The diet is in full swing, and everyone is appropriately cranky. There are good reasons not to take treats away at the same time you take all sleep away. But we are pushing through, and at some point I will be glad. Now, I am hungry.

Baby Cuteness Rating- Getting chubbier, which is the key to all baby cuteness. I also think he is making eye contact with me more, and I swear he is smiling at me. Also, singing me lullabies. And quoting Frederick Jameson. And solving complex economic problems. I might be a little tired.

You Breastfed Where?- In a pumpkin patch, but it was in a gazebo at a picnic table... barely an accomplishment.

I also breastfed while taking an eye exam. It felt pretty badass, but it also made me appreciate our eye doctor (who is a mom, too, so she understands the dilema of a screaming baby vs a boob out).

And I am Feeling- So hungry. But otherwise, good! Still haven't had to do whole days 2 on 1, so we will see how I fare when we get there, but I am mostly happy, just starting to really feel the effects of the tired. Also, I miss chocolate. Also, noticing that I am getting very behind on life- I need to plan a birthday party, prep for visitors, a whole host of things. But right now I am absolutely living in the present, because that is most of what I can handle.

Most Bizarro Quirk of the Week- Feeling normalish? That 6 week mark is no joke, and even though I know I am a total zombie, I do feel more healed and more like myself than I have in a long time (damn baby brain got me this time). Happy to be able to sit and lift and ride down a slide holding my monster toddler.

Best Moment of the Week- Tonight, I got out of the shower, fed The Baby Bear, and he puked most of it back up. Into my hair. Which hadn't even dried from the shower yet. That has to be some kind of mom record.

Favorite Tool in my Arsenal- Noodle and Boo 2 in 1 wash. makes our kids smell so good. It's tough enough to work on our stinky toddler and gentle enough for our newborn. Plus, it is made in America! One bottle will last at lezst a year with a little one, so even if it seems more expensive than some more mainstream brands, it's a good investment.

And We are Watching- Really bad reality tv. Steampunk'd, some quiz show... The dregs of Netflix, but we may be too tired for something that requires attention or a soul.

And the Boy?- Dreading the end of paternity leave, but otherwise holding up against the lack of sleep. Making a lifetime of freezer meals this week as the simple weeks are quickly coming to an end.

Looking Forward To- My dad is coming! Excited for The Baby Bear to meet his Gump. Should be a really great week. 
Read more

Senin, 10 Oktober 2016

4th Trimester Updates- 5 Weeks and Crabtastic

When I pinterested "fourth trimester," I couldn't help but notice that every single option was either weight loss or breastfeeding related. Really? I am looking for some outfit ideas or cute posts on what the heck is normal, and all it seems a woman in her 4th trimester is supposed to care about is boobs? I know we are boobs to our infants, but are we just a set of nunjas to ourselves too? So much so that we are desperate to whittle everything else down? 

Boo. I say phooey to this. 

So I am going to try doing the Anti-Bumpwatch. The 4th trimester tends to be pretty alienating, because no one wants to talk about it, but does that really help anyone? It also tends to be treated as almost shameful- you hide your breastfeeding, you fight to get back to your pre-baby body, you hermit at home so people don't see you all discombobulated and pajamed. Where a pregnant body is seen as miraculous and beautiful (which it is), our new healing and STILL life-giving bodies don't garner much respect. 

Maybe it would be good to hear how some other people are going through the first months of their new infant. If nothing else, I can use it as a record later, and hopefully I want be too horrified what my sleep-deprived brain found relevant or funny. But know, other mothers are going through it too. You may feel alone, and maybe I won't have the same experiences because they are so individual, but somebody has gone through something similar. 


How Far Along- 5 Weeks, and change. You didn't expect me to be timely on this did you?

My Weight- Maybe down one pound? It's hard to tell. This week, we committed to getting healthy again, so we are hitting the diets and exercise hard. I am glad we are doing it, because I know we will feel better, but I do want to tell you a secret...

I actually feel pretty good about how I look right now.

Yes, yes, my torso looks like a deflated balloon, and yes, I am still 15 pounds from my starting weight. But I also lost 15-20 already in baby and its surrounding goos. When I look in the mirror, I already like what I see, and I already feel empowered by how much more I can do because I am not so freaking pregnant. I don't know how to say all this without sounding braggy, but it's mostly how I feel.

That being said, I do know I want to build positive momentum so I can get back to walking everywhere and back into my bikinis (I am kidding, why are bikinis such a big deal? Why are people so proud of their belly buttons?).It's an investment in household health, but in terms of feeling good about how I look, I am already pretty much there.

Baby Cuteness Rating- Oh, we are getting some wonky eye action, but it's kind of cute. But also wonky. So it really depends on your preferences.

You Breastfed Where?- A 3 hour drive from home, in a big tent full of people and crab. We went to Crabfest as an impulse decision and to prove to ourselves we can. Last time, we may equally crazy decisions about taking our newborn out, but I think we hit a moment where we have to know we aren't stuck in our house forever, so we just GO. So we took a road trip, which went well minus an emergency stop in a Black Bear Diner parking lot to breastfeed. The boob-related highlight of the trip was definitely sitting next to the giant line of people waiting for crab and whipping it out there. It's kind of like the little entertaining things to look at in line as Disneyland.

And I am Feeling- Good, mostly! I think the trip wore me out a little, but I am happy to be getting out of the house more and I am grateful for a baby who only stays awake an hour at a time instead of 3 or 4 hours a pop. Even if he yells at me more, if he goes to sleep, things are cool between us. Loving the sweetness of watching us become a family of four.

Most Bizarro Quirk of the Week- I popped buttons on two different outfits, because apparently my boobs haven't seen enough strangers. They have some kind of super powers.

Best Moment of the Week- Friday morning. We made it through the night away. Everyone was mostly in a pretty pleasant mood, and then The Bub discovered bunk beds. He was so freaking excited about that bunk bed, and he kept talking about Mercer Mayer (in one little critter book, the big brother has a bunk bed and he gets the top bunk because he is older). He was just so excited, and it was cute. I am really proud that we made it through the trip, and we had fun! So score!

Favorite Tool in my Arsenal- Solly baby wraps. They are stretchy and breathable, and they make adventures with a newborn and toddler totally doable. Also, we wear the baby around the house a lot because it leaves our hands free. These are perfect if you are a beginner baby wrapper as well, because the strecth is forgiving and once you have it on, you can leave it on. Also, I love the colors. We get so much use out of these.

And We are Watching- Nothing in particular. Lots of food shows and a couple of the new documentaries on Netflix. You know the story about the woman who was murdered in front of an apartment building and no one did anything because everyone thought someone else would? Kitty Genovesee? The story is totally untrue! One of those things where the story took over actual events. If you want to feel super sad and a little better about humanity, the documentary about her is pretty great,

And the Boy?- Continuing to be a paternity leave rockstar. Trying to sleep train the Bub for his naps. Its a tough road, but he is sticking with it!

Looking Forward To- I think we will do a pumpkin patch this coming week, so looking forward to doing holidays now that our older son kind of can figure out what is going on.
Read more

Senin, 03 Oktober 2016

Fourth Trimester Update- 4 Weeks and the Start of Paternity Leave

When I pinterested "fourth trimester," I couldn't help but notice that every single option was either weight loss or breastfeeding related. Really? I am looking for some outfit ideas or cute posts on what the heck is normal, and all it seems a woman in her 4th trimester is supposed to care about is boobs? I know we are boobs to our infants, but are we just a set of nunjas to ourselves too? So much so that we are desperate to whittle everything else down? 

Boo. I say phooey to this. 

So I am going to try doing the Anti-Bumpwatch. The 4th trimester tends to be pretty alienating, because no one wants to talk about it, but does that really help anyone? It also tends to be treated as almost shameful- you hide your breastfeeding, you fight to get back to your pre-baby body, you hermit at home so people don't see you all discombobulated and pajamed. Where a pregnant body is seen as miraculous and beautiful (which it is), our new healing and STILL life-giving bodies don't garner much respect. 

Maybe it would be good to hear how some other people are going through the first months of their new infant. If nothing else, I can use it as a record later, and hopefully I want be too horrified what my sleep-deprived brain found relevant or funny. But know, other mothers are going through it too. You may feel alone, and maybe I won't have the same experiences because they are so individual, but somebody has gone through something similar. 



How Far Along- The Bub is 4 weeks old- one month old tomorrow!

My Weight- The same. I think the big drop off is over, though it s funny that the weight varies at least 5 pounds depending on how engorged I am. Because that glamour.

Baby Cuteness Rating- I am biased, but I think he is pretty cute, maybe cuter than his brother at this phase. He doesn't stare through us, and he has really bright and alert eyes. I know he can't see us, but it feels much more like he is looking.

You Breastfed Where?- Seattle Center, in a giant field of people (lots of whom were taking pictures), while eating a Top Pot doughnut. Once the doughnut got involved, I could have flashed everyone. Who cares, I have a doughnut! I also breastfed at the Locks, so those salmons have something to talk about.

And I am Feeling- Feeling better, but tired. The Bub seems to have a sensitive stomach, so I am cutting out dairy. We had a few nights where he just screamed from dusk until dawn, but since I gave up my beloved glasses of milk, it seems to be improving and I think everyone is (sort of) catching up on sleep, so that is a good feeling. Because the screaming was killing my soul. How do people with colicky babies do it?

Most Bizarro Quirk of the Week- VBAC's take so long to heal! Totally thought I would be back to normal by now, but one of my friends told me it can take like 8 weeks just to walk right, so the bizarro thing here might be my expectations. Thought I'd be doing cartwheels  and splits by now, but I need to stop stewing at my lady parts for not being back in tip top shape.

Best Moment of the Week- I can think of a couple of good ones. We went to Ballard Locks, and that gave me that feeling that we can still do things. I love that feeling. If you can take two tiny people out on a serious outing, what can't you do? Watching Wall-E for movie night and having everyone cuddle was also pretty great.

Also, God bless the Mercy reflex- no matter how tired and miserable you are, it's impossible to not be melted by the little fingers wrapped around yours. What a weird, awesome miracle that babies are designed to grab your fingers. It's like the first sign that they love you, and I know it's all involuntary, but I love it.

Favorite Tool in my Arsenal- I love Aden and Anais swaddle blankets, but now that I know how they are made (and just how many are already in consignment stores), I would never buy one new. We have a mismatched collection, but I bought two more this week, so now it is that much more varied. A pack of 4 these much coveted blankets is about 50 dollars. Used, I have bought 4 for under 20. Used is the only way to get these blankets.

And We are Watching- Stranger Things, and I am obsessed. I honestly don't know what I will do when we finish it tonight. I know everyone says it is really good, but it is really good!

And the Boy?- Killing it at paternity leave. Mastering his baby wrap booty dance and catching lots of Pokemon while taking the toddler on walks. I can already see the dangerous combo of toddler fatigue and cabin fever setting in, so we are coming up with lots of activities to keep everyone busy and sane.

Looking Forward To- Season 2 of Stranger Things. It's a serious problem, but the third episode! So good!

This week is Applefest here, which means we celebrate our hometown festival a very long way from our hometown, Looking forward to Apple pancakes and changing leaves. and just doing fall as a family of four.
Read more

Sabtu, 24 September 2016

Fourth Trimester Update- 3 Weeks and Feeling Fine-ish

When I pinterested "fourth trimester," I couldn't help but notice that every single option was either weight loss or breastfeeding related. Really? I am looking for some outfit ideas or cute posts on what the heck is normal, and all it seems a woman in her 4th trimester is supposed to care about is boobs? I know we are boobs to our infants, but are we just a set of nunjas to ourselves too? So much so that we are desperate to whittle everything else down? 

Boo. I say phooey to this. 

So I am going to try doing the Anti-Bumpwatch. The 4th trimester tends to be pretty alienating, because no one wants to talk about it, but does that really help anyone? It also tends to be treated as almost shameful- you hide your breastfeeding, you fight to get back to your pre-baby body, you hermit at home so people don't see you all discombobulated and pajamed. Where a pregnant body is seen as miraculous and beautiful (which it is), our new healing and STILL life-giving bodies don't garner much respect. 

Maybe it would be good to hear how some other people are going through the first months of their new infant. If nothing else, I can use it as a record later, and hopefully I want be too horrified what my sleep-deprived brain found relevant or funny. But know, other mothers are going through it too. You may feel alone, and maybe I won't have the same experiences because they are so individual, but somebody has gone through something similar. 



How Far Along- Baby Bear is 3 weeks old today!

My Weight- Last I checked, I am down 19 lbs from weight at my last doctor's appointment. 7 lbs baby, 12 lbs of all kinds of gross stuff. I am putting this in here because no one ever talks about it, so normal is impossible to figure out.

Baby Cuteness Rating- I would say that super fresh baby cuteness is less glowy, but he is getting curvier and less hairy (plus his stinky umbilical cord is gone) so his cuteness may be headed up overall. Still, I am starting to see hints of the phase where they stare through you and off at ghosts, which is like the sad puberty of infanthood. No one else will say it, but that second month is not the cutest.

And I am Feeling- Mostly good! We still have in-laws here, so I have lots of support. Also, unlike our first Bub, the Bear does not want to chill and watch Top Chef for hours after each feeding, so sleep is more of a thing. The downside is I am still healing and can't do a lot of what I want to, because VBAC's are overrated, and it turns out things don't have the bounceback they are advertised to. I don't like that I am overextending myself so much and so easily, and another 3 weeks of not being able to do what I want is mostly annoying. I am sure I felt this way with the c-section too, but I can't remember, so I am sour about my whole undercarriage now. You are designed to be the exit! Why are you so uncooperative!??

Most Bizarro Quirk of the Week- I got hives after seafood pasta last night. Let us hope that business is a fluke, because motherly sacrifice should not include mussels (even though for my mom it totally did. But come on karma, pick on somebody else).

Best Moment of the Week- My favorite moments are still when it feels like everyone is bonding and our 3 person clique is accepting it's new member. I caught the Bub rubbing his baby brother's feet while we watched Daniel Tiger, four of us to the couch. It was super cute. I couldn't be more pleased and proud of how generally accepting he has been. Also, going to the playground, because being outside is NICE.

Favorite Tool in my Arsenal- I got new baby washcloths from Bamboosa, and they really are super soft and nice, Would recommend for sure.

And We are Watching- Best British Bake Off. English people want everything crispy. They are so wrong about that. Also watched Jaws for the first time, and I liked it way better than I expected. That Roy Schneider and his summer turtlenecks really spoke to me.

And the Boy?- Started paternity leave this week, and he is all the sorts of awesome (even if his male privilege keeps his nips out of danger). He pays for his lack of nipple pain in diaper genie runs, so I can't be all that mad. Have 5th Harmony stuck in my head, because that man is going to be working from home.

Looking Forward To- Doing the Walk to End Alzheimers, because we can. Even if I can't finish it, I can still go. Ready to be a little less hermit-ish, but dreading my MIL leaving.
Read more

Kamis, 15 September 2016

3 Things for Yesterday- Snappies, Orchestras, and Baking Puns


1. "Carini" and Snappies- Word of the day. Fun to watch the Bub trying to crack up his Nonno. Also, use his brother's various things as toys. That is some multi-tasking.

2. The Recycled Orchestra- These students in Paraguay play instruments made of garbage, making the most out of the giant landfill next door. It's depressing to see the challenges they face, but it is damn cool to see what they came up with. It touches my heart too, because it perfectly illustrates the connection between being creative and rethinking "waste." This is my favorite NPR story this week, and I am going to track down the documentary- Landfill Harmonic.

3. Mel and Sue- We are watching tons of Great British Bake Off in our post-baby hermiting with the Boy's parents. Sadly, this is paired with the news that Mel and Sue are leaving! Boo! Those ladies (and their awful and wonderful puns) are total gems, so it is such a bummer that they are leaving. We were completely sucked in yesterday, so its sad that it is ending as we are just becoming seriously addicted.
Read more