Jumat, 31 Oktober 2014

Hey Matt Walsh: Take it Easy on Young People

This week another Matt Walsh blog has been floating around my facebook newsfeed, and though I generally like the frankness of his writing, I really though this blog was more destructive than interesting. Matt was encouraging people in their 20's to get married and have babies- revolutionary, right? I think that this blog hit on a few of the key assumptions that I think are very destructive to our mission as Christians:

1. This (insert choice here) has worked really well for me, so clearly everyone should do it.
2. Oh, this choice doesn't fit you? Then clearly there is something really really wrong with you (because it couldn't possibly be my plan or perspective, which should fit everyone).

This set of moves in logic drives me absolutely nuts, as it tries to negate the many privilege you have that fuel your choices ("everyone should buy a Ferari, and if you don't, it must be because you are stupid") and the profound, deep, and beautiful differences between people (all of whom were made by the same God). As a 28 year old who is in fact married and having a baby, you would think I would support his argument, but I mostly think he is way off base this time. Here's why:

Walsh starts off his argument by saying that we are the most marriage-averse generation in history, and therefore our current behavior is another sign of society's destruction. I mean, we could spend a whole blog just talking about how narrow minded and historically incorrect that point is. Maybe he means in Western history? Judeo Christian history? Not to mention, if you measure marriage ages against average lifespans, we aren't that far off the general mark.

 Also, does being married at 25 really make you that radically different from your peers? I have a very large collection of bridesmaid dresses that beg to differ. If the social-expectation has changed, it hasn't done so in such a dramatic way that a married person in their mid-20's has become am exotic rare flower. Less marriages? Sure, yes. So much so that it deserves this sense of urgency? I don't thik so.

Walsh sees the institution of marriage as "integral to our advancement" as a species, and again, he isn't wrong (I mean, if we all suddenly stopped being able to reproduce Children of Men style, we would be in trouble), but the situation also does seem more complex than that. We are one of the first generations who can clearly see the cost of very dense human populations on the world's resources, and I think you could make the argument that taking it slightly easier on reproducing can be beneficial to the ever-growing population of unwanted children (I know at least two unrelated people who chose to adopt rather than marry and bear children) as well as the potential problems of population overgrowth. Maybe Matt Walsh is in the "Global Warming, who?" pack of Christians, and I can actually respect that, but there is an absolute arrogance to suggesting that the duggars are doing the world 19 times the favor by having way more kids, using way more resources, and announcing their pregnancies 10 minutes after conception.

I also think he is only talking about marriage as the heteronormative privilege (hence the extreme focus on child-making), leaving out the fact that not everyone can get married. Just the choice is a privilege many still don't have, and I don't think that should be forgotten here.

Marriage and kids obviously doesn't have to mean super-spawning, but the starting suggestion that we are self-destructing because we aren't all hankering to populate the Earth might have as much to do with what the world looks like (I mean, most of us also aren't living agrarian lifestyles, and therefore don't need to produce our own workforce) as a generational attitude.


Matt implores us, his friends, to not be afraid of marriage. I think that's a fair enough request. Avoiding anything because you are afraid of it is a pretty sad and self-defeating way to live. But so is doing things just because you think it is what you are "supposed to do." Again, not everyone even can do it, so the access to it is not as simple or self-evident as the essay suggests. He seems to only be writing to people who are just like him, meaning they probably also think just like him already.

I am married. I am going to have a baby, so I can't say "oh this institution is bunk." I like being married so far, and I do think everyone should have the choice to do it. But I can also recognize that I benefit from a lot of privileges that make the choice available and just doable. So here are a few factors I think Matt got wrong or should consider more fully:

1. Not everyone needs marriage- Matt points out early in the article that he lived completely on his own and then with a spouse. He prefers living with his wife over living alone. Awesome. I am happy for you, but is it not possible that some people might actually enjoy being alone more? I mean, you can find these figures in the Bible, so we know it isn't the only available focus. I also completely believe that God gives a lot of important and loving relationships in our life; it is cool when we can have a spouse who fits in that category, but to not notice the other hugely important bonds you have in your life is kind of ungrateful. Siblings, friends, and room mates can hold equally important positions in a heart. These other relationships and priorities can require equal commitment and labor, but it may not look as conventional from the outside. Again, just because this one source works for you does not mean that is the case for everyone.

2. "Just be more Mature" is not Helpful Advice- A number of Matt's points (1, 3, and 5) suggest that you can't wait until you have your life/ money/ career totally worked out before you get married because that will never happen. In theory, I actually totally agree with that; my experience with adulthood so far is that no one ever knows what the heck they are doing, so you have to take some leaps before you totally understand the situation, or you will stand still your whole life. Truth.

On the other (very important) hand, we are not projects for another person to fix. No one is ever going to help you get to a good point with yourself, and I don't think there is anything wrong with that at all. You will keep growing and changing, and the amazing trick of lasting marriages is somehow coordinating that change, but that doesn't mean you shouldn't be good with who you are at the starting gate. If you get married too early in your 20's, you cut off those few years where you don't owe your choices to parents or your spouse. You only have a teeny window to factor only yourself into that equation, and though that time isn't necessary for everyone, it is essential for others. It doesn't make you selfish to want to have independent growth, it is selfish to expect someone else to take care of that growth for us. Taking your time and making the decision with some experience behind it could show more respect for the decision.

3. Priorities aren't necessarily jumbled because they don't look like yours- Yeah, you basically do need money (and basic money-handling skills) to be married! I love that he feels like people aren't getting married because they want to buy iphones. How condescending can you be, man? Money is a tremendously stressful part of our lives, and in general, many people don't get into the jobs they want or trained for until struggling through free labor and minimum wage situations. Bringing in that level of stress to a marriage shows a lack of maturity to me, if anything. Feeding 2 people costs more than one, and even if you can minimize that impact as you add more and more, but it doesn't change the fact that you need to figure out how to feed one first. 

I would say the key positive advice here is to take the time to know what your priorities are, because spending money on stuff that isn't even that important to you is easy to fall into. I know that I have trouble sometimes accepting other people's priorities, but you don't get to say someone else is being selfish just because they don't do life like you do. I can remember on more than one occasion a friend telling me they can't travel like we do because they are married/ have a baby/ aren't rich like us. We prioritized travel for a long time (giving up lots of other things), because we valued our relationships with our extended family that much. We could have gotten married and started spawning sooner if we didn't want to see our grandmas multiple times a year, but that isn't who we are, and I have no interest in apologizing for it. Nor do I think anyone else should. If you want an iphone, or a trip to France, or to be able to volunteer and go on mission trips more than you want to be married, why would that be a bad thing?

4. The Right One (Soulmate, One and Only, etc) does not Exist, but there are Plenty of Wrong Ones- I don't believe in soul mates or the One, and I also do think it can create a situation where you can hand off responsibility to fate when maybe taking care of your relationship would be a healthier course. At the same time, just because there isn't a One and Only doesn't mean any interested applicant would fit just fine. As a kid, I thought you could make it work with anyone if you wanted it bad enough, but that assumption is totally and ridiculously wrong. Compatible communication styles matter. Shared values matter. Please, for goodness sakes, be choosy and don't hand your heart off to anyone who shows interest. Finding a good partner, who you really can be friends with, seems way more important to me than just locking something down.

5. Boooooo Lame Tropes about Biology- I have generally enjoyed Matt Walsh because he seems deeply respectful of the women in his life, but all of number 7 is a straight-to-all-you-vagina-carriers  bummer. It again suggests that there is one path to reproduction and nothing else matters, when that clearly isn't the case for SO MANY PEOPLE. Not to mention this kind of "have your babies now or you NEVER GET BABIES" narrative is not only false, but it traps women back into some Susie Homemaker role. I agree that our biology is not a mistake, but I don't agree that just because pregnancy at 22 is the path of least biological resistance means it is the right (or even available) choice for someone else. I love living in a world where multiple routes to parenthood exists, and I wish Matt was a lot more open-minded on this front. Pregnancy and parenting are hard on your mind, your body, and your time. Someone has to take care of that tiny person, and it is a simultaneously selfless and totally selfish thing to devote time you could be giving to others to a tiny person that continues your own "legacy." If you want to invest your body or time or things elsewhere, I say phooey on anyone who makes you feel bad about it (I also say phooey on anyone who tries to make you feel bad for choosing to have kids). You only have so much effort and time, that is absolutely true, but creating some arbitrary finish lines robs you of the value of what you are doing now. And on that note...

6. Maybe marriage and parenthood will be the best adventure of your life. Or it could be going to nurse children's heart surgeries in Africa. Or writing your first book. Or becoming a badass embroidery artist. Or curing cancer. Or going on a balloon journey across the ocean-  I am glad that Matt is so happy with his choice, and that it has proven to be so exciting and enriching for him. But I am not Matt. And neither are any of you. So have the adventures you want to have, because really, if your dream is to build the Eiffel Tower out of dry spaghetti or make the next great American film, or lobby against handguns or for animal shelters, or speak 10 languages, those are all pretty awesome adventures too. I want to hear all about those. Even if you get married and have kids, please have your adventures too. I hate the suggestion that the dream of a family should trump all other dreams. In relationships, you have to have your own interests and growth to keep bringing something fresh to the table; I can't see why that wouldn't be the same for families.

7. No, You aren't your Parents. But then again, you kind of are (and no matter what, you are carrying a bunch of their nonsense with you)- Matt happily owns that his parents remain married, then suggests that many of us poor millenials are "jaded" by our unhappy childhoods. I find it interesting that Matt feels we were victimized by our "selfish, immature parents" while simultaneously suggesting we get married sooner (wouldn't it be better not to reproduce until some of that selfishness was worked out?). But I would argue that so many adults whose parents were divorced aren't jaded, but take deeply seriously the incredible challenges marriage brings with it. This business is incredibly difficult, and you put everything you are on the line to make it work. We see how crushing it is to everyone when it fails, and I have had so many long, deep conversations about how we can do it differently, but also how we know we are the same. Matt chalks it all up to our parents' choices, but from my perspective, sometimes a bad fit doesn't immediately reveal itself. Or not everyone is in on the choice to dissolve a marriage. A partnership can promote a lot of growth, but the destruction of one leaves scars forever, and pretending they don't exist is a fool's game.

Not to mention, if you haven't lived in a household with a happy marriage at the center of it, you have to author your own idea of what a happy marriage would even look like. In some ways, I think this is incredibly freeing, but building something totally new just takes longer than taking a path that you've already seen work.

Couldn't it be that our generations isn't being flippant or selfish or even afraid, but that we are taking the institution of marriage more seriously by taking our time, making informed decisions, and choosing a path that specifically fits our understandings of ourselves? I am the same age as Matt Walsh and stand on the other end of my 20's just like him. I just don't think there is a wrong way to do it as long as you aren't hurting yourself or others. I am excited and encouraged to see all of the ways people get from here to there, and I feel relieved that there is no one finish line we are all racing toward. Everyone gets to make their own path and design their own life the way that best suits them, and in general, I see people taking that responsibility very seriously (and no, not just in some naval-gazing way, but asking great questions about who they are so they can really give to others). We are also one of the most volunteering generations since that history has been documented, and I don't think that is unrelated to the same trends Matt bemoans.

I understand that when you like the way things are going, you want so badly for everyone to get to feel that same joy, but I think essays like these make the mistake of taking that instinct too far. Someone making another choice doesn't make your choice (or theirs) bad. The beauty of reaching your 20's is that we are each fulfilling our own goals, so grading someone else by your rubric of happiness or priorities becomes completely (and thankfully) ineffective. So get married if you want (I never turn down an occasion for cake), or don't, or do it later, or do it once everyone can do it. I think we can each individually put goodness, selflessness, and love into the world in a way that fits exactly the person God made them into, and that's a beautiful miracle, not a threat. 







 -
Read more

Kamis, 30 Oktober 2014

9 Things for the Last 3 Days

1. Being productive- I actually got a lot done on Monday! That was nice. Unlike today, in which I have gone lampshade shopping at Target and written this sentence. You're welcome, world.

from bigappetites.net
2. Christopher Boffoli- This photographer does pictures that play with food and scale (I just spelled that skill... I feel like in three weeks I will just be blogging those emails I used to send the Boy late at night from Vienna, in one of which I called him "Spidey") inspired by he said movies like Honey I Shrunk the Kids (and we can only hope the Borrowers). Favorite thing I genomed this week.

3. Cheddar Bisquit Mix- Thank you, Universe, for coming up with something so wonderful. I might just send one to my Nana on a weekly basis as a campaign to become her favorite grandchild.


4. Rochelle Kennedy, Super Laborer, and Fresh New Aisley Marie- My cousin Shelly had her beautifully chubby cheeked and thick-haired baby (who I also know without a doubt is going to be sassy and hilarious- you can just tell from the cheeks) on Tuesday. Shell makes labor seem not so bad, so I am glad she went first, and I can't wait to meet this baby in person! 
5. Paternity Court- It's like Judge Judy and Maury had a baby except no one knows who the father is. The saddest part is that the poor judge got that law degree so she could read paternity tests. It doesn't even make sense- do you think she goes home everyday and cries?
6. Galaxy Quest- That movie has become our healing film. I think it is the powers of Sam Rockwell. Also, we have seen a lot of Sigourney Weaver lately, and that lady is grossly underrated. She is just amazing in everything. 
7. Amy Poehler- I know she comes up often, but she did an ask me anything yesterday that was funny and cool and very Amy Poehler-y. She just always seems like a genuinely kind person, which is a strange thing to admire in a stranger, but alas, I am super weird.

8. Pumpkin Carving- The Boy draws out a design and makes a plan. I just start cutting things, because I think the real joy is to let the pumpkin speak to you. It will tell you what it's personality is. Mine is a smiling lady troll. The Boy's friend Rayan came to visit us and carved the BBG gourd, which he says is winking.
9. Those pumpkin scraper things- Way better than spoons. Everything else in those packs are ridiculous, but the scraper is a gem.
Read more

Senin, 27 Oktober 2014

Minggu, 26 Oktober 2014

3 Things- QFC cakes, Olafur Eliasson, and SJP as a Witch


1. Two Bite Cupcakes- QFC (a Seattle grocery store chain that may be elsewhere? I honestly don't know) sells this brand of mini cupcakes called Two Bit Cupcakes. I tried their lemon one back on the forth of July and pined after them all summer (I never got one again, but I wished for them anyway. Today we parked near the Wallingford QFC while shopping, so the Boy marched us over there for some lemon cupcakes (finally!). Lemon was gone, but in its place were these pumpkin cupcakes with cream cheese frosting, and they are also great. Let's see if we can get 12 to last us until the end of the week.
2. Olafur Eliasson's ice project- I am fascinated and a little bit troubled by this project, which I think means the artist is doing something right. It feels wrong to take ice away when it is depleting so quickly, but when you realize just how little this lot is, it's hard to deny all of our impact. You can hear about the project here.

from moviepilot.com
3. Sarah Jessica Parker in Hocus Pocus- Everyone is having way more fun in that movie than the protagonist (it destroys on the Bechdel test, and mostly seems to be a movie where the girls are heroes and the boys are useless virgins), but no one seems to be having a better time than SJP. She is doing the same thing she did in LA Story, but even more so here.
Read more

Pinspiration- 10 Halloween Cupcakes

 Halloween welcomes the most creative treats of any holiday, and every year, I become slightly obsessed with the good ideas put on display. You can probably mark a correlation between the kind of evil the holiday is supposed to be about and the pure delicious evils of sugar of all kinds, but since I am not one for being scared, these are my favorite parts of the holiday.

from mybakingaddiction.com
10. A Pumpkin Cupcake- Ok, this decoration is underwhelming if you are going for a big decorating bang, but just imagine this with orange-colored frosting and a stem. It's not a far leaf, and pumpkin-flavored things are totally Halloween. Also, I really hate the weird anti-"basic" thing which seems to me to just be yet another way to make it ok for people to talk shit on women based on entirely artificial and unimportant criteria. You know what is WAY more boring and overdone than pumpkin spice lattes? Talking crap on girls who drink them. It's not an opinion worth having. I'm bored already. On the other hand, I feel like I would be pretty psyched if I got to eat one of these cupcakes, and like I said you could tie the flavor in with slightly more "pumpkiny" decorations.

from cupcakediariesblog.com
9. Graveyard cookies- The idea is so simple, and as this blog did, you could probably pull it off all in accessories, but I would also love to see these cupcakes stepped up another level or two. Could you dye the cookie to look more like a gravestone? Pipe in some grass? Add in some zombie hands coming out of the dirt? Still, it works as a great pin, because it inspires all sorts of ideas!

from thecupcakedailyblog.com
8. Ghost cupcakes-Ack! So cute, but it does make your teeth hurt just from looking at it. I mean, that is a lot of frosting! I was thinking you could have a hershey kiss underneath the frosting to try to keep it clean.
from skinnytaste.com
 7. Mummy cakes- I have used this guy before, but it is so damn cute, and might have a much better ratio of frosting to cake than a lot of these do. Great option if you want to try something that isn't quite so treat-y.

from indulgy.com
6. Finger cakes- We just watched Hocus Pocus tonight (I wonder what the exact years you have to have been born to like this movie are- 83 to 90?) and SJP and Kathy Najimy have a finger fight right at the beginning. I like the spirit of that here.

from  allhallowsdesign.blogspot.com

5. Vampire Cakes- Really, this cake is all about the hairline. Don't you miss when all vampires had hair like the Count? Can someone (PAG) explain the history of this hairstyle to me? The two sharp teeth hanging out the mouth are also adorable. I feel like making a cupcake look this good would be a challenge, but they nailed it.

from damndelicious.net

4. Spider cupcakes- This one has floated around on pinterest a lot, and for good reason. Super cute, and just gross enough to seem a little more appropriate for the holiday. I just love the little googly eyes and the legs coming off the cake.

from mrsgreene.com
3. Witch's Brew Cupcakes- This is genius. I love the switch of wrapper to change how the whole thing feels, and I want them to be the sandwich kind of cupcake so the frosting is on the inside. Also, kudos for the pretzel tie-in, because some people (not me, but I know those people exist) who really love their salty with their sweet.

from sweetology101.blogspot.com
2. AhhHhhh! Real Cupcakes! I thought these were really sweet monsters. Nothing too scary, but I bet you could add arms or jaws to make them even more fun!

from parents.com
1. Skeleton Cupcakes- I have been loving skeletons this year, and I feel like this guy has a lot of wow factor without too much fuss. 15 minutes extra effort? Not exactly scary, but cool. I have done the skeleton thing with cookie cutters (take a cutter of anything and make it a skeleton- I promis you it will be appropriately creepy), but these cupcakes are also adorable.
Read more

Bumpwatch Week 36






How Far Along: Yesterday, we finished up our 36th week! The baby is the size of a honeydew melon, which now that you mention it, sounds delicious. BBG is pretty fully baked, and he has fully developed organs (the last thing they work on is their brain, so the longer we can keep him in, the better for his noggin. He also has gained lots of fun hobbies like hanging upside down like a bat like a pro and sticking his butt way up into my rib cage. This is the first week where I kind of get the sense that he isn't as comfortable anymore, because his attempts to roll over or get more comfortable never seem all that successful.

At our doctor's appointment this week (we are on weeklies now- how crazy is that?), we got a surprise ultrasound, but we still didn't get a good look at his face. We can now say his head is very round, though that kind of thing doesn't stick through labor as I hear. But he can know his head was round once- we have a picture to show him!

Best Moment of the Week: We had our second half of the "How to Have a Baby and Not Hate Each Other" workshop yesterday, and even though it sounds like the kind of thing that builds your character, we actually loved it. It is taught by a sweet older woman named Rosalys who lost her husband to Alzheimer's 3 years ago, so spending time with her and hearing her stories (including one about taking her husband to a scuzzy hotel) serve as exercises in appreciation. I feel like we have just been trying to figure out how we will get through that first few months, and hearing Rosalys, you feel like you should figure out how to enjoy it. It says a lot about an instructor if you have to give massages in a group of couples and sit in a circle talking about your feelings about your parents, and you still have a really nice day.

Most Interesting Prego Quirk: The rings did come off, the belly button maintains a strange non-outness, and I am officially too big for a couple of my maternity things. Otherwise, it's pretty uninteresting here.I would say that my brain and body are both working at like half the pace they were even a few weeks ago, and that part is hard on how I perceive myself (not to mention my blog output- sorry loyal readers!). I hate the feeling of not being productive, but my bandwidth is so limited that I just can't handle much.

I Would Really Like Some: You know, I'm good. I have been asking for clam chowder for a week, so we may have that this week (and Salmon- still pushing those Omega 3's!). Otherwise, I feel pretty spoiled already and am not struggling with any particular cravings or anything.
 
Bizarro Thing No One Warned me About:  You do reach a phase past cute. Maybe some people don't hit this phase, but I am there in a big way. At the same time, older women especially will sometimes smile at you like you are a toddler or a puppy. I don't mind this, just like I don't mind the occasional belly touch, but I do wish I knew what of it is baby-related and how much of it has turned into schadenfreude. So enjoy the belly when it is cute, because in the end phase, the baby is apparently sucking up the cuteness left.  No one will tell you that, but it doesn't make it any less true.

And The Boy?: Officially freaking out now. He can't sleep much at night, and he has a couple of projects left to finish which are clearly driving him nuts. Let us all hope, for his sake, that he gets lots of sleep and lots done today, because I think until everything is up and ready, he is just not going to feel alright about things. We ordered the things we absolutely need right away off the registry, but we are still pretty short on some of the necessities, so I think that is stressing him out too.

Looking Forward to: This week my cousin Shelly will be induced so she will have her baby! I am very excited for her as I know she is way ready to be done. Rochelle is a big planner, and she is always focused on the next step, where I am always kind of desperate to stay where I am (for instance, it makes me sad we will be out of the phase where we are both pregnant at the same time). But I am very excited to see her baby, and I hope she has a great labor! I really can't believe this time has come already!
Read more

Sabtu, 25 Oktober 2014

3 Reasons Why Meghan Trainer's "All About that Bass" is the WORST Kind of "Empowering"

So I wrote the majority of this blog a few weeks ago, and a day later my Dad and his wife both proclaimed their love for this song, so I didn't post it, because I didn't want it to seem like I was calling them out specifically (Pagmanda, I love you both, but your taste in trashy pop music really is the worst, which is weird because you have great taste in non-trashy msic). This piece of ear garbage has inexplicably picked up steam, and now I can't avoid it, so I went from hating it to REALLY hating it. It's attempts at body positivity are really ridiculous and the worst this sort of pseuo-feminist positivity has to offer. The ugly isn't even all that hidden. And here's why:

1. "Yeah, my mama she told me don't worry about your size
She says, "Boys like a little more booty to hold at night."


 Liking parts of your body because that's what boys like is a fool's game- You know what kinds of girls bodies heteronormative boys seem to like? All kinds, because every person has their own taste and attractions. I have seen in my 28 years that they mostly like bodies that will have sex with them best. Male approval of your looks is one of the cheapest and least valuable things in the world; if their desire based on your looks was all you needed to feel good about yourself, we would all feel amazing all the time. Look elsewhere.

2. "I'm bringing booty back
Go ahead and tell them skinny bitches that"


Being nasty about skinny girls isn't being "body positive" it's being a jerk- I said it and I mean it. I get it that photoshop and magazines and all that nonsense aggrandize a body ideal no one can reach. That being said, antagonizing people with a body- type you feel antagonized by doesn't help anyone. They aren't an image, they are a person- just like you. Rather than feel angry at people who get high grades on some perceived social aesthetic scale shouldn't make you mad at them- be pissed that the scale exists at all (and stop buying those magazines!). You are perpetuating all sorts o assumptions about our visual presence defining our value as women, when really our body type has very little to do with our value as people. And while we are at it, though I can't blame Meghan for this one, a curvier body is no more "real" than a skinny or small one. You know whose body isn't real? Ghosts. Hallucinations. Mannequins.

3. "Yeah, it's pretty clear, I ain't no size two
But I can shake it, shake it
Like I'm supposed to do" 


"You know I won't be no stick figure silicone Barbie doll"

Comparing yourself to someone else, no matter how you feel you stack up, will never really empower you. Comparison truly is the thief of joy, and choosing to play that game means you have already lost- You know, for as secure as Trainer says she feels about her body, she spends most of her time talking about another shape (ok technically she mostly talks about that bass, but I am trying to scrape that stupid metaphor off my brain). Why can she only feel good about herself when she is putting someone else down? We as girls are prepped and trained to gauge our own success and value against others, and honestly, has that ever served you well? Has it lasted? Has it helped your bonds with other women or helped you get to know someone new? So why do we do it? This song isn't about the glory of loving yourself, it's about trying to feel better by putting down what we are not. It's the mean middle school girl of pop songs, in that passive agressie bitchiness that is many women at their worst. Plus, it really is unrelenting on the radio, only being topped by Taylor Swift's rapping. We can do better, for goodness sakes.



Read more

Kamis, 23 Oktober 2014

Becky in delicate 1930s peach lace wedding dress.

Dear Reader,
Say hello to Becky, dainty Vintage Bride of the Week...
For her August wedding, petite Becky chose a darling 1930s wedding dress in peach lace. The dress was so delicate and suited Becky to perfection. 
In Becky's words...
"Thank you so much for the lovely fun afternoon we had at your studio trying on dresses. It was just how I wanted to find my wedding dress!  
I loved gazing at the dress for ages before the day, and even more so wearing it on the day.  Thank you for helping me find my absolutely perfect dress!"
Congratulations and love to a dainty bride with a wonderful giant smile!
Love
Helena
Heavenly Vintage Brides

If you like this post, please try:
Read more

Rabu, 22 Oktober 2014

Today's Inspiration- Jody Alexander's Ruby B

Today I had a special project to finish for Artsy, and I couldn't be happier, because I discovered yet another truly amazing artist. Jody Alexander works as a librarian in Santa Cruz by day and as a book artist and collector by night. She spins her own narratives around found books and texts, but the ways she transforms them are unlike anything I have ever seen. New favorite for sure. Here are a few images from her "The Odd Volumes of Ruby B" series, which you can read more about here (no seriously, click the link. You will see beautiful things).

from www.seagergray.com

from www.jalexbooks.com

from www.herringbonebindery.com
The total femininity and precision of what she is doing moves what could be just an original idea into something that feels precious and rare. The embroidery on the pages is unlike any I have seen before. When a collector makes her own objects, I think she captures that magic that drives those archival instincts in the first place. I think this work is magic.
Read more

6 Things for the Last 2 Days- Leggings, Aretha, and a Working Sink!


from http://www.modcloth.com/shop/leggings/imaginative-merriment-leggings-in-delight
1. Bosch Leggings- This may be the best a camel toe could possibly look. I want these in a bad way, because they are just wonderfully classy and inappropriate all at once. Plus, anything to bring attention to my inner calf. Well done, Modcloth. I have always wanted to see leggings with more naked people on them.
2. Calling it and just going to Arby's- A horrible and wonderful solution to life just being annoying. Also, curly fries are good for the soul.
3. Aretha Franklin singing Respect live- There is one version I love, and it gets harder and harder to find. I may just buy the cd, since I have mostly decided streaming is a fool's game.
4. A Working Sink and Laundry Machine! Woot woot! You all can come visit us now- we will stink much less. Latest brush with adulthood conquered, and we are back to blogging and playing video games.
5. The Horror of Trying to Binge Watch Love it or List It- Homeowners are the worst. Homeowners in Canada, worst ever (have you ever noticed when you hang out with Canadians, they always have to talk about how it is better there? Have they never seen this show? Don't you know how whiny you all are?). The designer and homeowner's drama  and disdain can destroy your soul if you watch too many episodes in a row. It doesn't even matter how contrived it is. Also, what is going on with Desta's hair? Bad in a million different ways!
6. Crab Bisque- We are trying to eat mostly soup and salad from now until spawn. This way, we can test lots of new things that might be good once we are trying to lose weight and also learn how to be parents. Tis week, we are doing crab bisque
Read more

Selasa, 21 Oktober 2014

3 Things for Yesterday- Notorious RBG, Xbox Music, and Word to Mother


from https://www.etsy.com/listing/196009779/notorious-rbg
1. Notorious RBG t-shirts- I have almost bought this on etsy like 10 times now for the Boy (he loves Ruth Bader Ginsburg- that's a keeper. I keep thinking about making him a surprise bag for the hospital when I am in labor, both because it sounds pretty boring for him and just in case I am super mean to him, and this may be in it. Need to make a decision.
2. XBox Music- I am finally saying goodbye to Zune, which has gotten worse and worse for quite a while, and I am switching over to XBox music, so I can have music on my new phone when we get it in November (ah to have a phone with battery life?).
from godsavedadaism.blogspot.com
3. Word to Mother- This is my favorite artist I genomed yesterday. Former Street Artist/ Graphic Artist. Check out his work here.
Read more

Senin, 20 Oktober 2014

A Gypsy Vintage Wedding, Part 2.

Dear Reader,
Today I have more delicious Gypsy Wedding images, from the photo-shoot using my original vintage dresses...
After some research, the stylist / photographer team behind the shoot knew they needed an original Romany Gypsy wagon. It took some time to find the perfect one...
And luckily for them, they also found Walter - one of the most revered Gypsy Wagon Restorers. As well as loaning them this stunning black-and-gold caravan, Walter and his family guided them through all the details for the day. In Christian and Erica's words...
"Walter took us though to his barn, and it was an exciting moment to come face to face with what would become the centrepiece of our shoot - a gorgeous, original ‘Doors & Windows’ Romany caravan, hand-carved and covered in gold leaf.
We also took the opportunity to talk to Walter and his wife Mary about traditional gypsy weddings, and within minutes they’d found a fascinating old leather-bound album full of black and white family photos from gypsy weddings. And so we began to form a picture of what a REAL gypsy wedding would’ve looked like."
The results are lovely. So soft and romantic... 

Thanks for stopping by,
Love
Helena
Heavenly Vintage Brides

If you like this post, please try
My Gypsy Style Vintage Wedding Dress of the Week


With thanks to:
Authentic gypsy wagon – adzlee@btinternet.com
Vintage Headpieces – Flo and Percy
Crockery – Felicity’s Vintage Tea Party
Blooms – The Blossom Tree
Make-up Artist – Gemma Lees
Hair Stylist - Emma Buck
Boutonnieres – D C Bouquets
Cakes – Rachel Edwards
Vintage Suitcases – Fountain Pen Emporium
Groom’s Vintage Suits - Vintage Whistles
Wedding Favours – Vintage Twee
Models – Cirila Zorenc and Charles Durnian at Model Mayhem
Photography and Styling –  Christian Ward Photography
Read more