Tampilkan postingan dengan label TV. Tampilkan semua postingan
Tampilkan postingan dengan label TV. Tampilkan semua postingan

Minggu, 30 Oktober 2016

Five Favorite Etsy Stores- Stranger Things Goodies

I want to keep highlighting amazing makers in the US, and I feel like my Etsy links can get caught in the more mainstream shuffle. So starting a series to focus on the greatest stuff we have found. 

We may be slightly obsessed with this show in our house (especially a national treasure named Barb). It turns out, we are not the only ones, because there are so many cool and hilarious Stranger Things goodies on Etsy. How can you not feel good about a world where people are making Barb stickers? These might make fun Christmas gifts, or just cute things to look at.

from Strangeways Studios
Strangeways Studios (Utah) has all sorts of pop culture t-shirts, totes, and onesies. I love their simple contour-line designs, and they have a couple of Barba and Eleven designs I am totally in love with. It makes me laugh that they use the same waffle design for Leslie Knope and Eleven (they have so much in common). Love this store!

from Concepcion Studios
Concepcion Studios (California) makes beautiful and minimalist "retro-modern" posters, ncluding this one for Stranger Things. Plus, they aren't all that expensive, so they might make a perfect gift for the movie lover you love.

from dreamlikefilm
Dreamlikefilm (Chicago) makes vinyl stickers with great style and pop culture (mostly film) references. I love their choices for Stranger Things references too- who doesn't need an eggo sticker! This store might be a great stop for stocking stuffers.

from Wooteewoot
Wooteewoot- Has any one shirt ever contained so much truth? They have lots of cool ones.

from Big Yellow Dog Designs
Big Yellow Dog Designs (Atlanta)- The Lights with the alphabet has to be the most iconic image in the show. Making Alphabet magnets with that image? Totally genius.

from Smart Lamb Shop
Bonus- I try to feature all American shops, because I really believe that buying locally is better for the environment, but this was too cool to not include. Smart Lamb Shop recycles old VHS tapes into table lamps, and the bizarre anachronistic combination of a modern nostalgia tv show on a medium it will never actually BE on is just too good. You, my friends, are some Brazilian Winners.

Ok, there are so many cool things, so if you are interested, check these stores too- Dainty Dirtbags, Jenny's Sweet Tees, Cately Designs, The Exploding Awesome, jeddlangevin, Abbie Illustrations, Weirdo Weapons, Tokyo Electrick, and Deep Fried Art.

Want even more eco-friendly and local shopping inspiration? Check out my Giant List of Ethical and Eco-Friendly Shopping Lists
Read more

Rabu, 19 September 2012

Top 10 Parks and Recreation Episodes

In honor of Parks and Recreation starting back up this week, I am going to list off my favorite episodes ever. I'll be honest, I am really nervous about this season, because the election stuff was not that good to me, but watching it over to make this list, season 4 did have a couple of gems ("Treat Yo Self" and Feminist Andy come to mind). And I still think Parks and Rec is one of the most underrated, straight up best shows on television. 

10."Christmas Scandal" (2/12)- Maybe the bittersweetest episode of the show ever, with the break up at the end being so incredibly good (Louis CK is truly the best sad sack ever)and the quiet ending being even better. But you have to give the show credit for not antagonizing its female lead for choosing a job over a boy, balancing that story with many of the reasons why she really does belong where she is. I like that this is a continuing trope of the show, and it is this same feeling you get at the end of season 4. You can feel the gooey center of the show (and the department) here.

9. "End of the World" (4/6)- I know there are other options for most romantic episode of this show, but I think this one wins. Watching April help Andy fulfill as many items on his bucket list as possible is so sweet, and their reaction to the Grand Canyon is amazingly touching in a quiet way most comedies couldn't handle (also, props to Parks and Rec for successfully transitioning a couple from pining into an interesting and romantic married couple). The main plot line, that the cult is waiting for Zorp to return and set them all on fire with their lava mouth is a hilarious frame for Leslie's sad grappling with her relationship with Ben and Tom's glorious final stand as the owner of Entertainment 720. Writing this makes me realize just how sad this episode could be, but the tone remains upbeat and very funny, because Parks and Rec clearly loves their characters.

8. "Summer Catalog" (2/20)- Is it weird that my favorite moment from this episode is that Leslie has bacon in her purse because she knew Ron would be hungry and Ron already ate it? This show has seriously the best friendships on TV. A great episode for showing how women have to participate in boy's clubs and finding the humor in these interactions. I also LOVE when Tom pitches the tiny cup picture in meeting.

7. Pawnee Rangers (4/4)- Amazing. Absolutely Rashida Jones's best episode of the show. She is so funny in it. The plot is great, so in line with the Leslie Knope character (I love how annoying she finds the little mini-Knopes). Features a Gertrude Stein and a womanly roar. You can't fight with that business, and it isn't surprising the men cross over. I also love that the resolution is two mixed gender clubs. Feminist episode while being funny and not stupid or heavy handed about it. Even better is the "Treat Yo Self" subplot. Thank the heavens for Donna and Tom in a sparkly blazer. Also, a great episode for Ben. So nerdy and amazing!

6. "The Fight" (3/14)- If this only had Ron Swanson drunk on snake juice it would be in the top ten, but there are so many great things going on- Ann and Leslie's fight is hilarious, the Douche, Jean Ralphio's raps (I love him, I know he is supposed to be annoying but he is my favorite recurring character- "How bout you turn that friz-own uside diggity?"). I also love that nearly all of the characters are in the same place in this episode, so we can just enjoy them all being together and super drunk.

5. "Telethon" (2/22)-I love the way this episode becomes about Leslie and her friendship with Ann (the sleeping at the end is super fun). Also, I love the accountant. And "Pawnee's most bookable celebrity" And the beginning of Detlef Shremp. No a huge episode in terms of moving the plot along (except with Mark and Ann), but this episode is just one hilarious thing after another.

4."Fancy Party" (3/9)- Andy and April's wedding is hilarious and sweet. Their vows to each other can make me tear up. Chris Trager's dancing is hilarious, Jean Ralphio's toast advice is amazing, and Tom Haverford's feeling on best men is clearly on point. The wedding is lovely, but I actually love the subplot with Ann and Donna too- Retta is absolutely hilarious in this episode- "Are you Nell, from the movie Nell?"

3. Ron and Tammy Part 2 (3/4)- The first Ron and Tammy episode is great because it is so unexpected (it made my brother's list), but the second episode takes it to a whole new level (come on, Ron Swanson with braids in a kimono?). The two biggest highlights, I think, are the police interviews about their fight at the police party ("Real piece of work") and the intervention. I especially love Donna and Andy's speech and Ron's reaction to his own film ("That's you, that's you talking").This is also one of the best Tom Haverford episodes, culminating in his entrance to Tammy's bridal shower ("Tammy Swanson Swanson!"), seeing Jerry ("Damnit Jerry"), and getting the crap kicked out of him.

2."Go Big or Go Home" (3/1)- Has the Swanson's Pyramid of Greatness- What else do you need? Parks and Rec comes back strong every season, but this season opener was the greatest.Ron and Andy's time with their basketball teams (who would "develop a great rivalry") is a perfect summation of the characters. It also has the beginnings of Chris and Ann's romance, and Rashida Jones is very funny in the episode (though she is even better in the flu episode). Also, props to them for showing the members of the department doing their part-time jobs while the government was on hiatus. Throwing Jerry's painting in the lake gets me every time.

1. "Greg Pikitis"- (2/ 7)-  My favorite episode of all time. I realize this may not seem like the obvious choice, but watch the episode again. It is literally perfect. Every line is funny. Stories are moved forward and bonds change, but in such a funny way. it is also the first time we see Andy get to work as Bert Macklin, FBI agent ("I'm not crying, I'm just allergic to jerks!"). Also, Amy Poehler is so funny from the first shot on as a crazed Leslie Knope. I fully believe that Parks and Rec is best when it keeps its scale small, and this episode shows its strength when it just puts most of its characters at a party and have at it, because by this point you can just genuinely enjoy spending time with them.

Alright,  which episodes am I missing? What would you name as the best?
Read more

Selasa, 11 September 2012

Top 5 TV Shows I'm Definitely Not Looking Forward To

1. The X Factor- I am so sick of singing shows and celebrity judges and all of that nonsense. And I actually think last year this was the show that broke the camel's back. No amount of teen queen is going to win me over to this, or the one with the chairs, or the one that used to have J Lo. Please someone start the new trend, because this one is tired.
2. The New Normal- People keep talking about this one, because it is the next brain child of Ryan Murphy, but I am not sure there could be a bigger turnoff for me. Because I am pretty sure Murphy's creative MO is starting with a cool conceit loaded with some sort of potential, and then making it increasingly bizarre/stupid/sincere and ugly at the same time. I really did like Glee in like the second half of the first season. That Madonna Episode is damn good. But at some point, some big chunk of somebodies at Glee ran out of good ideas and humor. Also, is a coming out story really the only way to give a high schooler pathos? And I am happy there are some good gay story lines out there, but if you are still making your curvy girl sing songs about eating tater tots, I am pretty sure we aren't talking about acceptance. It's bizarre, because it wants to be making fun of High School Musical style moral patronizing, but it just espouses a different set of rules. That isn't satire, that isn't clever, and I don't see his new show as being any different. I think that actually American Horror Story is the perfect creative vehicle for Murphy, because he can just switch set ups as he goes.
3. Revolution- I am sorry, but I have not forgiven any of the guys from Lost yet. They are freaking assholes that wasted way too much of my life. I am not watching another show, because now I know they never know what the hell they are doing. Plus their "tough girls" are always kind of wusses who need men's help. Plus, I hate them. I will never watch this show.
4. SNL- I have already written at length about how much I hate SNL now. Especially Seth Myer's SNL. I'll pass, thanks.
5.  Whitney- You know those girls who say they hate all other girls because they are actually the only cool girl and all other girls are stupid? Worst group ever. And this show is not funny.

Read more

Jumat, 31 Agustus 2012

Senin, 20 Agustus 2012

Jumat, 17 Agustus 2012

Selasa, 14 Agustus 2012

Rabu, 01 Agustus 2012