Rabu, 08 Agustus 2012

3 Things I Love Today


1. This! 17 days!
2. The Boy's reaction to Toilet Paper Commercials with Bears- Nothing disgusts him more than animated bears schlepping for toilet paper. I am not sure why, but I love it. Not the bears, which are stupid and entirely unrelated to the issue at hand, but I think there must be so much of a stigma against the actual function of toilet paper that advertising them must be nearly impossible.  I guess you can't advertise with a family made of shit.

3. The Total Weirdness of Downtown Carmel by the Sea- this downtown is quaint rich person heaven. Its a cute little downtown where the hometown shops are things like Tiffany's, and I couldn't find a sandwich for less than 12 dollars. It has 2 connotations to me- it's where my wedding dress is from, and it is where Clint Eastwood lives. That's about it.  But walking through it today made all the fake little Silicon Valley downtowns look like ghettos. Just bizarre.
Read more

Wedding Wednesday- Trying to Make a Seating Plan (with alterior, match-making motives)

from tahoeunveiled.com/tag/black-and-grey-wedding/
This week's big mission (other than trying to figure out what the hell one packs to go home for their wedding) is to do the seating chart. We haven't finished yet, though we have managed at least one really fun set up, though of course we will have to wait to see how that goes. Basically, the Boy has completely taken over the task, and I make myself available to answer questions as he raises them.

We decided that we should do a seating chart not because of the formality of it, but basically to try to put people we can count on to be chatty with strangers in the thick of things. You can let people seat themselves, and in some cases that might be perfectly fine, but it can also feel like a middle school cafeteria if you don't know many people. It's another one of those things, where I think if the host is a little more high strung, the guest can actually be relaxed. Plus, we don't have extra chairs to go around!

from somethingturquoise.com/2011/09/02/diy-easy-seating-chart/
Apparently the cutesy elves on Etsy do this whole post-it note thing. This is a LOT for us, and in general, excel has worked perfectly. I categorized people, the Boy made a second excel sheet for the table setup (micro and macro). He split them into tables in one night on one spreadsheet, and now tonight we are working each table out as independent units. I'll let you know how it goes. I keep thinking I will blog about wedding stuff more, because it's close and I could if I wanted to, but honestly, how much else is there to say? Especially with the Olympics on! But I will try to talk more about our strategies once I know whether they will actually be successful.

Read more

Wedding Wednesday- Our Inspiration Pictures


Ok, now that things are boiling down, the pictures that ended up being our biggest inspirations have really come together. If you are planning your wedding, I highly recommend keeping a stock of the pictures that appeal the most to you as you go, because they will probably paint a pretty clear picture of the feeling of your wedding.

Ooooh, going through these makes me so ready to do this already! I think it is going to be fun. This is the part I miss now that we are going through the nitty gritty.

from www.stylemepretty.com/page/647/

from www.oncewed.com/diy-wedding

from www.chroniclebooks.com/handmade-weddings

from www.etsy.com/shop/stylemycorntoss

from lastingimpressionsweddings.blogspot.com/

from southernweddings.com/vendor/a-southern-soiree/

from ruffledblog.com/handcrafted-backyard-texas-wedding

from etsy.com

from fr.weddbook.com/hashtag/fuchsia-wedding/2


from www.pinterest.com/paulajvr/hay-bale-inspiration

from greenweddingshoes.com/diy-giant-paper-rose-flower/

from minted.com

from www.societybride.com/category/bridal-look/wedding-shoes/



from greenweddingshoes.com/


from vickiesvintage.blogspot.com/p/wedding-themes.html


from theknot.com

from www.jasminestarblog.com/index.cfm?StartRow=528

from www.stylemepretty.com/california-weddings/

from pinterest.com

Read more

Wedding Wednesday- The Dress is in the House!

Today, I had my last dress fitting at Epiphany Bridal in Carmel by the Bay (they are awesome, but I will probably write a separate blog on that later); now, the dress is in the house. And it fits me just fine. And it looks very pretty in the bag and I keep wanting to get it out and show the boy, because he is the only person around who I could show!


 My thoughts on dress fittings are pretty simple- who cares if the person fitting the dress doesn't like you? Almost everything you have to tell them will sound like a complaint in your head. You are asking for more of their time and their labor, so you should be gracious, really listen to them (because they do probably know more about dress-fitting than you), and be openly thankful for their efforts. But you should also say every little thing that pops in your head and may turn into a real complaint later. Because it will grow like a weed. And they will be on to the next fitting, and you will still be mentally torturing yourself. So just say it. They won't care. Seriously, even if they are sassy, they are used to it.  I found every time I would feel rude suggesting something needed to change, but now that it is done, I am so glad I did!

from www.1950swedding.com/
My only other big piece of advice on this is don't buy a dress from someone who skeeves you out. Randy Fenoli would hate this, but dresses are a dime a dozen. The one you love is elsewhere, I promise you. Don't buy a dress from someone you wouldnt trust to tear it up and put it back together again, because that is what they are going to do. 

Also, bring your shoes! that part really does end up mattering. This is pretty much all I have learned from this particular experience, which I generally found very pleasant and not particularly remarkable. I am very excited/ freaked out to have the dress in the house, because it means we are so close to the wedding! 2 weeks! 17 days!

Read more

Thank you Random Pinterest Post

Great ideas alone mean nothing. Your ability to persevere through 16 major setbacks, a lack of passion, forgetting why you started this great idea in the first place, and all the people who allude that your great idea is actually quite terrible — well, that means everything.

And then there is this one-

 Life will never feel like it's "supposed to". Being twentysomething can feel like death by unmet expectations. However, let me be so brash to say that you are right now, at this moment, exactly where you need to be. But you’ll only be able to see that five years and thirty-eight days from today.


Read more

Selasa, 07 Agustus 2012

3 Things I Love This Week

from www.miguelases.com/
1. These earrings! This shiz is adorable.

from www.artic.edu/aic/collections/artwork/144356
2. Teaching class this morning- This morning I gave a lecture in one of my friend's classes, and I think it went really well. At the very least, I had a great time and the students were very responsive, so I took it as a win. On days like this, I have to remember that if I can get through this, then I (hopefully) I will get to teach, on some level, and that will make me really really happy.

from etsy.com

3. That Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is my cousin Patrick's movie now- This is the best movie of all time. Truly. I watch a lot of movies, and there is not one I love more than this one. Patrick and I, I think anyway, have pretty similar tastes, and he is going to school for film, so I am happy he loved it too. Also, this poster is one of the best things on Etsy if you are ever feeling REALLY generous and want to buy me a present ;o)

http://www.etsy.com/listing/75270739/eternal-sunshine-of-the-spotless-mind-a2?ref=sr_gallery_1&ga_search_query=eternal+sunshine&ga_view_type=gallery&ga_ship_to=ZZ&ga_min=0&ga_max=0&ga_ref=auto1&ga_search_type=all
Read more

Dissertation Progress- Well, that sucked

Tonight, after being stuck in our apartment while police were staking out an apartment in our complex (no joke! so weird) I headed to the workshop I've been in all summer to get my dissertation proposal critiqued. As has been clear on this blog, I have been struggling with this thing for months and months, and have been in a waiting pattern with my adviser all summer to get the last draft back, but I was convinced that the latest iteration was some picked gnits away from being ready to turned in.

Turns out, not so much.

The faculty member teaching the workshop (who is 1 third of my committee) spent a solid hour, going paragraph by paragraph, tearing the thing up. This actually was pretty helpful, albeit frustrating, because it was the first time I got a clear picture of what was working (a couple sentences spread here and there) and what wasn't (everything else). Even parts I thought were pretty solid got absolutely torn up. The heart of the issue is that I spend a good chunk of the proposal "meandering" and that there are places where I need to be pushing much harder conceptually, and I am just not.  A big part of it is that it just comes off as very wussy, unwilling to take a hard stand, and vague when it needs to be specific. In fact, he said to write one that I felt was way too polemical, and then try to tone it down vs writing a bunch of noncommittal slush.

So, that sucked.

But what actually bothered me the most about the whole event (much more so than just the fact that I really need to pull this together but have a few other things on my plate right now) were all the looks the other grad students in the room were giving me. I got lots of little smiles or sad eyes, and I got that feeling I always get at grad school. They feel sorry for me. They feel bad for me because they know I am not measuring up. I HATE that look. Even people who are generally very sweet, and who I know are perfectly nice people, suddenly seem to be so smug. Because, in my head, they feel bad for me (that part is not in my head... they really do give you "oh you poor thing" faces) but they also take pleasure in my failure, because they know they are better than me.

Even if this is true, I have a lot of trouble understanding why the condescending poor you faces still absolutely crush every part of my soul. The reason, which is no one's fault but my own, is that somewhere along the line, I believed the look. When it comes to school, the part of my life that used to be really fun and just for me and where I could be sassy and inappropriate and have big rude not polite opinions, I am now weak and quiet and I truly do doubt whether I am actually good enough to be here. All the time. I do not recognize grad-school Barbara, but man am I sick of being stuck with her. She is a whiner. She won't own what she thinks. She avoids what used to be fun exercises of creative thought because she is sure nothing she comes up with will be any good. She avoids people who want to talk about the things she cares about out of fear they will want her opinion. She is truly the worst!

It makes me feel sad that the people I go to grad school with in general probably think I am a nice enough person. I doubt there is much value in being nice beyond a constant appeal for people to please just like you! Please! But much worse than that, I am so sick of churning junk out and then pushing it around the paper, rather than enjoying learning and researching and thinking. I hate that the fact that I got tore up (from the floor up- does that saying relate to dissertation proposals?) is very likely closely tied to this giant anvil of insecurity and mediocrity I am trying to shake off my leg. I don't own my arguments, I actually hide them in a bunch of unneccesary efforts to "cover my bases" because I am ashamed of what I think, because I am sure they aren't good enough.

Of course, as I write this, I recognize that a certain amount of the solution is to just get over myself and just do it, but I have been doing this for four years now, and I still feel like I am drowning in the same puddle. Like I know my face is in the puddle, and I can see everyone else crawling (or running along) but I just drag my face in the puddle. So I really don't know how to turn this around and I feel very lost. In general, I think I need to stop mourning what I have become and move on. Maybe I am really selfish now. Maybe I will never be as smart as the people around me. Maybe I will never belong anywhere again. None of this should keep me from writing a 15 page paper! None of it!

Anyway, this has turned onto a really long and whiny tangent. The next step is to take the night to just shake off the embarrassment/ frustration/ whatever and tomorrow I will start putting the notes into action. Because even if it takes me 10 years, I am getting through this stupid thing.


Read more