Kamis, 20 September 2012

3 Things I Love Today- Radical Listening, Tacos, Building the Family Archive


1.  Ted Koppel's piece tonight on partisan media discourse- Is there such a thing as radical moderacy? I can never pretend I am a moderate, I am pretty damn liberal through and through, but there has to be a way to be more productively communicating with one another. My dad wrote about trying to hear the other person when they explain their opinions, to ask questions rather than to immediately tell them why you think they are wrong. But I think it is also important for people to speak up when radicality misrepresents their beliefs. Most Islamic people do not blow up embassies or Christians picket military funerals etc etc etc, but how do you articulate that in the public sphere in a way which is productive? I think part of this is about citizenship as opposed to consumership- ugly stupid and mean rhetoric can make for highly compelling television or internet material, but it doesn't make for a better world. How can you choose what you consume to better cultivate the world you want to live in? And how can you write/ make/ say/ do to not counter what they say but neutralize it, turn it into something that isn't an affront but an opportunity to learn or do something good? Koppel is correct in noticing that the world of media is changing, as it always has been (seriously, forever, the story of medium and representation goes far beyond the internet or television) but because of the increasing ubiquity, it takes more effort and thought to counter it. I am not sure I am being clear here, but I am trying to figure it out.

 2.  Our Tacos- I love turkey tacos, but ours are amazing. We started off making really bad tacos, chicken with lettuce and cheese and tomato, but now a few years of living in California and I think we have the hang of it. Firstly, you need a great salsa- add grilled corn and nectarine. I feel like the more color is in your salsa, the better the salsa will be. Lots of onion and jalapeno! Second, avocado takes it to another level. I feel like everyone is into avocado now, but it has a good reputation for a reason. Just a tiny bit of cheese and a whole bunch of seasoned turkey (I hear tofu is pretty good too if you are vegan) and you have yourself a pretty good taco. It is also nice because it lasts us days.

3.  Today, we went and got photo albums and found a home for all one thousand (not counting our photographer's pics or the photo booth pics) of our wedding pictures. I couldn't get them in perfectly chronological order, but I think it gives a good feel of the day. I think people had a lot of fun.I love filling photo albums- it is the weirdest pleasure in the world, but it makes me feel like I am building our family history. Doing our wedding albums, that our kids might look at someday, is just really cool.


Read more

3 Things I Love Today- Schiele's Butts, Gallery Walls, and the Great Food Truck Race

from www.pinterest.com/chriskapongo/egon-schiele/
1. Schiele's male bodies- I was looking through a polaroids book I received as a gift a while ago, and I kind of anticipated that I would love it and reflect on Rodchenko, which I also loved, but then neither of those things happened. The book of polaroids was interesting in a sad nostalgic way, but it also featured a whole lot of boobs, sort of splayed out, while respectfully concealing all male bodies. In other words, whoever made the book was pining for more than just a technological past, and it felt icky. The book was also not as clever as it thought it was, so phooey on it.

This made me think about artists who have beautifully (but not necessarily sexually) displayed the male body as well, because I don't fault people for loving boobs, I guess its just how it goes, but it isn't the only perspective on the female body, and it still leaves out tons of other bodies! Anyway, Schiele safely resides on his perch of my favorite artist of all time. Number one, never to be dethroned, and sketches like this are why. Beautiful and masculine and sad. Plus, that butt is as cute as any set of boobs that polaroid book could muster. I will never try to rationalize my love for Schiele- he is just heaven.

from dishfunctionaldesigns.blogspot.com/

from theinspiredroom.net/
from scissorsandthread.tumblr.com/
from theselby.com/galleries/christoph-niemann-lisa-zeitz-2/
2. Home Galleries- Thank you to Pinterest for opening up this genre to me. I love a big, stuffed full photo wall. I am totally obsessed with their sweetness. My Nana and Poppop have a wall like this in their house, with all 8 of their children's graduation pictures, and I swear that wall sets the precedent to our family culture. I am currently brewing a new set of theories about how photography can be used to nurture and motivate family cultures, and I think display is so important in this. Plus, they are pretty and fun. This makes me think of Rodchenko, not some stinking polaroids!

from www.foodnetwork.com

from www.foodnetwork.com/the-great-food-truck-race/
3.The Great Food Truck Race- why do food shows never get old? We may have just watched the whole second season over two days, and I don't regret it. Tyler Florence is one of the least annoying hosts on Food Network (I especially appreciate that he is always eating!). The teams have to be smart and charismatic and great cooks. It is a great little show and our house highly recommends it.

Bonus! Turkey Tacos with nectarine and corn salsa and avocado. So delicious, plus it feels healthy.
Read more

Rabu, 19 September 2012

Wedding Wednesday- Final Thoughts on the Dress


Alright, I really am trying to get the wedding stuff done before I have forgotten it all. I figure next month is one month out, at which point all thank you cards and blogs should be done with. One thing that I thought I could talk about before it became ancient ancient history is my wedding dress. I didn't write about it too specifically beforehand, but now I can say whatever I want so there. 

We started shopping for dresses about a year before the wedding. My mom came to see me in California and we went all over the bay area to try dresses. We started noticing some trends early on. First, when you tell people you don't want to be sparkly, you run out of options a lot quicker. (side note: the fingers up are so my mom and I could talk about the dresses later)


Secondly, if you tell people you want something a little bit different, they hear ruffles. I tried so many things covered in ruffles on. It turns out, I am not much more ruffley than I am sparkley.


The other thing that became obvious quickly was just how expensive dresses could get. We went to a few fancier places, and things can really get out of hand. It was also a lot of information to process in one weekend and we started to get a little overwhelmed. People say you can get it in a few tries, but I think it depends a lot on where you shop and whether the person helping you has a good sense of what you want. The dress on the right, by Amsale, had swiss dots and I really loved it, but my mom wasn't feeling it as much.


Then we went to Priscilla of Boston, and I tried on a couple of their polka dot numbers with minimal success (back then I thought polka dots was really going to work, but it mostly didn't). I tried on this dress, Fern, and it, by far, got the biggest reaction from both my mom and I. It was very femme and soft without being obnoxious or saccharine.We had gone to Priscilla of Boston's partially for fun, because the dresses were a little expensive, so even though I think we could have bought this that day, the price scared us away.


After that, that weekend in July had minimal luck. 


But I did get to try on more ruffles! I thought a lot about it, but nothing felt like such an obvious answer that I was having a Randy Fenoli say yes to the dress moment. At the same time, I didn't have a huge desire to keep up the shopping, so I got antsy to just get something. 


Around November, it came out that Priscilla of Boston was being shut down to put more money and energy into David's Bridal, because they are both owned by the same company. I rushed to their big sample sales, thinking I would get Fern, but trying on the dress I couldn't help but notice just how well-loved that dress was. But the dresses were so cheap and sensible and fancy-looking, so I kept trying to find one that would work.  There was a lot of sending my mom cell phone pictures.


Eventually I found this one, which was super cheap and I figured was reasonably attractive. It was a sample for a dress Priscilla of Boston (Elaine) would never even get to make, so the dress looked good as new.  I debated back and forth whether or not to buy it, which was especially annoying because I couldn't bring another human being with me. All I had were the sales girls. So, I ended up buying it, sort of in panic that I knew this was my only chance to get a dress like that. I called it in from the East Coast and then picked it up after Thanksgiving. After I bought it, I was just antsy about whether I really wanted it or not, and started having a lot of regrets about it. I found myself thinking about the dress a LOT, which really seems like the first sign I had done something wrong. I was embarassed to show people and I just wasn't excited about it. It really is a very pretty dress, but it didn't have any fun to it at all.

I only was sure that I had made the wrong choice when I got my shoes for the wedding (from the fantastic Milk and Honey) and I was so much more excited about the shoes than I was about the dress. I took pictures to sell it online and decided I would shop a little in January. If I found something great, I would switch over, and if not, I could live with what I got.



I had really liked pictures of the Watters dress Lasara, and I saw online I could try it at a bridal store- Epiphany Bridal- in Carmel by the Bay. I waited until they were having a trunk sale, and the boy and I drove there for what became my sort of last chance to find it. And then, I did. 


I never had a weeping moment of ridiculousness at the store, but I tried this on and could tell it fulfilled both my requirements and the trends that had emerged out of a bunch of shopping- I liked dresses that flared at the waist (because I didn't want to have to think about the pooch at the wedding) with cool details. This looked pretty and floral from a distance, but when you got close it looked like a bunch of doodles. It was so cool!


So, with my first ever skyping and shopping experience, my Mom and I decided we were on the same page, that the cut worked, etc and we got the dress. Of course, because this had clearly become an arena from where to collect my crazy, we originally didn't get the bolero, because I liked the dress well enough without it, then eventually bought it separately. 


My mom finally got to see the dress in May when we went to the first fitting. No one tells you this, but it takes forever for the dress to come, and in that time, you kind of forget about it. At least, I did. So trying on the dress was so cool because I had forgotten how much I like it. It looked great, except that it was super huge, especially in the chesticles. 


The owner of Epiphany Bridal makes the veils and does the alterations herself, all for free. If you are anywhere near there, I would highly recommend her.


I think the dress came out great, minus being a home for bugs.  I would highly recommend not guilting yourself into a dress you don't love. Also, being honest with yourself about how you feel about your body, because I could have saved a lot of time if I told people I didn't want a fit and flare dress.

 
The other strange thing that you can get caught in is that this dress has to somehow be a summation of your entire being. It's not true. It's just a nice dress that you should really love and hopefully feel good in. And like anything else with wedding stuff, once you make a decision, if you can not think about it anymore, you made the right one. The bolero was a good choice and I think that it was beautiful and I kind of wish I had stuck with it the whole night.


I feel kind of sad the dress is put away, but I loved it and I felt pretty attractive in it. So it was all good. My advice- don't shop alone if you can help it, do your research, and leave guilt out of it. Don't get something just because it is cheap. Don't worry about the subtextual rhetoric inherent in your dress. You just want to look nice, and that means whatever it means to you. Yay wedding dress!





Read more

Top 10 Parks and Recreation Episodes

In honor of Parks and Recreation starting back up this week, I am going to list off my favorite episodes ever. I'll be honest, I am really nervous about this season, because the election stuff was not that good to me, but watching it over to make this list, season 4 did have a couple of gems ("Treat Yo Self" and Feminist Andy come to mind). And I still think Parks and Rec is one of the most underrated, straight up best shows on television. 

10."Christmas Scandal" (2/12)- Maybe the bittersweetest episode of the show ever, with the break up at the end being so incredibly good (Louis CK is truly the best sad sack ever)and the quiet ending being even better. But you have to give the show credit for not antagonizing its female lead for choosing a job over a boy, balancing that story with many of the reasons why she really does belong where she is. I like that this is a continuing trope of the show, and it is this same feeling you get at the end of season 4. You can feel the gooey center of the show (and the department) here.

9. "End of the World" (4/6)- I know there are other options for most romantic episode of this show, but I think this one wins. Watching April help Andy fulfill as many items on his bucket list as possible is so sweet, and their reaction to the Grand Canyon is amazingly touching in a quiet way most comedies couldn't handle (also, props to Parks and Rec for successfully transitioning a couple from pining into an interesting and romantic married couple). The main plot line, that the cult is waiting for Zorp to return and set them all on fire with their lava mouth is a hilarious frame for Leslie's sad grappling with her relationship with Ben and Tom's glorious final stand as the owner of Entertainment 720. Writing this makes me realize just how sad this episode could be, but the tone remains upbeat and very funny, because Parks and Rec clearly loves their characters.

8. "Summer Catalog" (2/20)- Is it weird that my favorite moment from this episode is that Leslie has bacon in her purse because she knew Ron would be hungry and Ron already ate it? This show has seriously the best friendships on TV. A great episode for showing how women have to participate in boy's clubs and finding the humor in these interactions. I also LOVE when Tom pitches the tiny cup picture in meeting.

7. Pawnee Rangers (4/4)- Amazing. Absolutely Rashida Jones's best episode of the show. She is so funny in it. The plot is great, so in line with the Leslie Knope character (I love how annoying she finds the little mini-Knopes). Features a Gertrude Stein and a womanly roar. You can't fight with that business, and it isn't surprising the men cross over. I also love that the resolution is two mixed gender clubs. Feminist episode while being funny and not stupid or heavy handed about it. Even better is the "Treat Yo Self" subplot. Thank the heavens for Donna and Tom in a sparkly blazer. Also, a great episode for Ben. So nerdy and amazing!

6. "The Fight" (3/14)- If this only had Ron Swanson drunk on snake juice it would be in the top ten, but there are so many great things going on- Ann and Leslie's fight is hilarious, the Douche, Jean Ralphio's raps (I love him, I know he is supposed to be annoying but he is my favorite recurring character- "How bout you turn that friz-own uside diggity?"). I also love that nearly all of the characters are in the same place in this episode, so we can just enjoy them all being together and super drunk.

5. "Telethon" (2/22)-I love the way this episode becomes about Leslie and her friendship with Ann (the sleeping at the end is super fun). Also, I love the accountant. And "Pawnee's most bookable celebrity" And the beginning of Detlef Shremp. No a huge episode in terms of moving the plot along (except with Mark and Ann), but this episode is just one hilarious thing after another.

4."Fancy Party" (3/9)- Andy and April's wedding is hilarious and sweet. Their vows to each other can make me tear up. Chris Trager's dancing is hilarious, Jean Ralphio's toast advice is amazing, and Tom Haverford's feeling on best men is clearly on point. The wedding is lovely, but I actually love the subplot with Ann and Donna too- Retta is absolutely hilarious in this episode- "Are you Nell, from the movie Nell?"

3. Ron and Tammy Part 2 (3/4)- The first Ron and Tammy episode is great because it is so unexpected (it made my brother's list), but the second episode takes it to a whole new level (come on, Ron Swanson with braids in a kimono?). The two biggest highlights, I think, are the police interviews about their fight at the police party ("Real piece of work") and the intervention. I especially love Donna and Andy's speech and Ron's reaction to his own film ("That's you, that's you talking").This is also one of the best Tom Haverford episodes, culminating in his entrance to Tammy's bridal shower ("Tammy Swanson Swanson!"), seeing Jerry ("Damnit Jerry"), and getting the crap kicked out of him.

2."Go Big or Go Home" (3/1)- Has the Swanson's Pyramid of Greatness- What else do you need? Parks and Rec comes back strong every season, but this season opener was the greatest.Ron and Andy's time with their basketball teams (who would "develop a great rivalry") is a perfect summation of the characters. It also has the beginnings of Chris and Ann's romance, and Rashida Jones is very funny in the episode (though she is even better in the flu episode). Also, props to them for showing the members of the department doing their part-time jobs while the government was on hiatus. Throwing Jerry's painting in the lake gets me every time.

1. "Greg Pikitis"- (2/ 7)-  My favorite episode of all time. I realize this may not seem like the obvious choice, but watch the episode again. It is literally perfect. Every line is funny. Stories are moved forward and bonds change, but in such a funny way. it is also the first time we see Andy get to work as Bert Macklin, FBI agent ("I'm not crying, I'm just allergic to jerks!"). Also, Amy Poehler is so funny from the first shot on as a crazed Leslie Knope. I fully believe that Parks and Rec is best when it keeps its scale small, and this episode shows its strength when it just puts most of its characters at a party and have at it, because by this point you can just genuinely enjoy spending time with them.

Alright,  which episodes am I missing? What would you name as the best?
Read more

3 Things I Loved Yesterday- Subway, New Boots, Reuniting

1. Eating Subway for Lunch and Dinner- You know you are having a travel day, when... Subway just offers a (sort of) healthier option than eating McDonald's or Arby's or something. Plus, I kind of think it is delicious, if not as good as Jersey Mike's. Thank goodness that there are some healthier options, because travel days are like the least healthy days ever.

2. My new boots! They are so cute and I am very excited about them. Definitely ready for the fall weather, but in California September still feels a whole lot like summer!
3. Being back with the Boy- it was a great trip, but it sure was nice to veg out with him yesterday. We have a helpful dynamic where I still feel empowered to go out into the world and do what I need to do, but once we are back together I really feel how much I missed him. And the apartment was even already tidied up! What a man!
Read more

Senin, 17 September 2012

3 Things I Love Today- Crab Bisque, Rainy Lazy Days, and Boots


1. B McNeel's Crab and Corn Bisque- Shell and Aunt Ann took me to this restaurant today, and the soup is really delicious. You also order by filling out a sheet, which is pretty cute because the room is pretty fancy pants. If you are by the main square, I would recommend it.
2. Staying in on a rainy day- so relaxing! Especially when I get to spend it with these people!
from www.glamour.com/
3. This Outfit- Can you tell I am still in boot mode? We'll see how mine are tomorrow when I get home!
Read more

Picture of the Week- On the Road




Read more